electric drum kits

All musical instruments, guitar / bass / drums / tri-angle / decks / amps / strings / plectrums .. (Will split into seperate forums l8er)

Moderator: Moderators

metal_dave
Snail God
Snail God

electric drum kits

Post by metal_dave » 12 Apr 2008, 12:08

i've always quite fancied learning to drum, but i don't have the space for a proper kit, and i don't want to get bummed by the neighbours OR the landlord. so basically, are electric kits any good? how much would i have to spend to get a half decent one? tell me what you know.

Badmummajamma
Slug Trainee
Slug Trainee

Re: electric drum kits

Post by Badmummajamma » 13 Apr 2008, 13:11

Most of them are just toys.

If you're a total beginner then something like the Roland TD-3 is cheap and will do the job but you have to spend thousands to get one that sounds nice and is decent to play.

Also, if you live in a terraced house or flat even an electric kit is going to piss your neighbours off. It just makes a loud tapping noise (especially the kick pedal) which some neighbours might find even more unbearable than real drums.

I got an irate monkey knocking on my door at 10 in the evening threatening me with all sorts of violence if i didn't shut up - while i lived in a terrace in Portsmouth.

Problem is, if you learn on an electric kit and then want to go acoustic you'll find it really difficult making the transition because electrics are much easier to play and bounce more.

Bottom line, forget drums and take-up the keyboard or something instead.

If you're serious about learning to drum, buy an acoustic kit and take it to a rehearsal studio once or twice a week.
Visit http://www.hansolomusic.co.uk for your RDA of Rock.

Alka
Snail Trainee
Snail Trainee

Post by Alka » 14 Apr 2008, 00:31

Badmummajamma wrote: